Tommy Hilfiger interview: Team, team, team

Tommy Hilfiger is the founder of Tommy Hilfiger Corporation. An entrepreneur from his earliest days, Tommy skipped college to run a string of retail stores in upstate New York. He later turned down highly sought-after fashion design job offers to start a company of his own. In 1995, Tommy was named Menswear Designer of the Year by the Council of Fashion Designers of America. Three years later Parsons School of Design named him Designer of the Year. By 2004 Tommy Hilfiger Corporation had over 5,000 employees and revenue of more than $1.8 billion. Private investment company Apax Partners acquired the business in 2006.

UpStart: What does it take to be a great entrepreneur?”

Tommy Hilfiger: “I think skills and personality traits are more important than background. I never went to college or design school, but I had passion, drive, and resourcefulness in droves. When I launched Tommy Hilfiger Corporation, I wasn’t trained in the conventional rules of business, but that worked to my advantage. I experimented. I made bold moves. And I adapted as I learned. I credit much of my success to my drive to win and my fear of losing.”

UpStart:  “To what degree was your team responsible for your success?”

Tommy Hilfiger: “I’ve always been aware of my strengths and also my weaknesses. Because I acknowledge my weaknesses, I’ve been able to surround myself with people whose skills complement mine. Building great teams has been essential to my success.”

Leave a Reply

