236 people get married per DAY thanks to eHarmony

A few weeks ago I sat on a panel about exit strategies for startups, run by Collective-E and the American Business Women’s Association. I’d say most of audience members were what I’d call Digital Immigrants – people over 40 who were, on a relative basis, late adopters to phenomenon like social networking.

One of my fellow panelists had her wedding site acquired by eHarmony, and the question came up, “Why does eHarmony care so much about weddings?” The answer shocked just about everyone in the room:  On average, 236 eHarmony members marry every day in the United States as a result of being matched on eHarmony. Just then, a woman in the audience of about 50 people raised her hand. “I’m one of them,” she said.

What’s the lesson here? Perhaps just an indication of how quickly and drastically the world has changed due to the web. The last time I was single was about 5 years ago, and while I consider myself to be pretty open to trying new things online, I never tried the online dating game. Now, it’s the norm, not the exception.

4 Responses to 236 people get married per DAY thanks to eHarmony

  1. Tom says:

    That’s great for the 236 but what about the rest of the 16,000 people that join them per DAY?

  2. vasili says:

    It doesn’t say they marry other E-harmony members… I could sign up and then meet my future wife at a bar, would they count me?

    I know how to twist words. Trust me, I’m a salesman 🙂

  3. Felicia says:

    Nope, they get married to someone they’ve been matched with on eharmony.

    “Gonzaga also noted eHarmony’s successful track record in matching people together for happy long-term relationships, citing a Harris Interactive study that found, on an average day in the United States, 236 eHarmony members get married to someone with whom they were matched on the site.”
    –http://www.eharmony.com/press/release

  4. Lots of Fantastic information in your posting, I favorited your blog post so I can visit again in the near future, All the Best

Leave a Reply

