Marching backwards into the future

Like many of you, I’ve been learning how to use social media to change the way I take in, and disseminate information, news, opinions, etc. So far, it’s working pretty well for me.

Most days, I teach workshops on topics like bootstrapping and business planning, and provide consulting to entrepreneurs (right now for a former NFL star making the transition to the business world). The workshops and consulting give me ideas and experiences for a book I’m writing (most likely to be both an e-book as well as a printed book). I blog about those same ideas and experiences. Then I tweet (@davidronick) about the blog entries. While I’m tweeting, I keep running searches in tweetdeck for topics like #business plan. If I find a clever tweet on one of those topics, I retweet them. If I find a link to a particularly good article, I’ll post comments, and sometimes interact with the author. Later I’ll circle back with that author to pitch my book or other things. About 2 or 3 times a week, a client lead reaches out to me as a result of all this. Plus the process helps me stay informed and connected to like-minded people. All good things.

But I just noticed an irksome policy: Some newspapers and magazines don’t include links. For example, one of my clients, DailyWorth.com, got a write up in Forbes online yesterday (note: DailyWorth is a free daily email with empowering personal finance tips. I read it every day and am a big fan independent of my client relationship). But Forbes wouldn’t link to DailyWorth, or even print their url. Why? Because they don’t want to drive people away from their sites. Huh? This morning I followed a tweet to an article on the Hartford Examiner, and made an opinionated post, with a link to a longer discussion on the top. I tried to submit the post, but got a message:  No links allowed in posts. WTF?

This is just one small reason newspapers and magazines are hurting. The world is clearly moving one way. But these old media companies are holding on by their fingernails to what worked for them last century. They are driving the car forward onto the web, but steering by looking in the rear view mirror. Ok, there, I said it. Harumph!

Leave a Reply

